Relax, First Time Moms

Reading anothers blog about first time Moms awkward baby moments, brought me back 17 years ago when I had my first son. At nineteen years old, I looked more like fifteen. I would see people stare at me and I was MORE nervous for THAT fact then anything else. Did I know what I was doing? Yeah, pretty much. Growing up around a lot of babies and baby sitting helped out a lot. But it was different when people were eyeballing me. It was like they were just waiting for me to do something wrong. (Or so, at that time….is what I thought). I’d change diapers in a snap, but out in public, I sometimes felt my hands shake, my fingers weren’t moving right…it was just pure paranoia. Which just makes me laugh thinking about it now.

Four more sons and one daughter later, I have been through it all. Been peed on, multiple times, pooped on and even had babies spit up directly in my mouth! I can’t tell you how many times they woke up soaked through EVERYTHING even though they were changed two hours before.

I breast fed them all, ranging from a couple months to two years old. They would eat for 45 minutes, them I’d have to change them, give them another sip and put them back to sleep. And by the time I got settled back in bed, I’d only have about a half hour before It would start all over again. The word tired wouldn’t quite cut it. Zombified….was more like it. But that only lasted for a couple months and as time went by, I was ecstatic about getting 5/6 hours of sleep in a row. Having a baby is sometimes difficult, exhausting, scary, nerve-racking….but 99.9 percent of all mothers out there will tell you it is ALLLL worth it. 🙂

I often catch a glimpse at ‘first time moms’ (which is usually obvious). Or even moms having a toddler and a new baby…By catching the wet wipes that are falling (or being pulled off by a toddler) or by simply (and sincerly) telling the Momma that their doing a great job, I’ve noticed that they really appreciate it. I see a moment of RELIEF washed across their face. We’ve all done it, we’ve all been through it, and we all know what you’re going through. When we see you with fussy ones mid afternoon, we KNOW, its just time for their nap. When we see your hair in a bun and no make up on early in the morning, we know you’ve had a long sleepless night or a crazy morning. I don’t judge….because I remember like it was yesterday.

Every week, every month, every year, difficult things become an easy routine. Soon after, milestones bring on new and messier situations, but through time, you’ll get it down. Then one day YOU’LL see a new mom struggling, you’ll smile, tell her she’s doing a great job and she will pass it on to the next.

Leave a Reply

